Jig for Mortising

Short post today. I finished my mortising jig. I linked a video for this jig in an old post about failing to make good mortices on the narrow edges of boards. It is basically two boards joined at 90 degrees on the long edges which provides a wider platform for the router to ride on. Stop blocks control how far the router travels, and a single stop block helps align the board so you can repeat the same mortise on multiple boards.

wpid-wp-1425523633977.jpeg
This jig is much more stable than before. So stable, in fact, that the router can stand on it’s own so I can take a picture.

I’m using my homemade Moxon vise to hold the wood and the jig up. This vise is just two thick pieces of pine with short pipe clamps going through either end. I might show it off more later.

wpid-wp-1425523650481.jpeg

Leave a Reply

